Infertility and the Law of Compensation

I came across this talk by Joseph B. Wirthlin called “Come What May, and Love It.” It’s a wonderful talk, if you have time you should read the whole thing.

My favorite part is what he calls the Principle of Compensation. He says, “The Lord compensates the faithful for every loss. That which is taken away from those who love the Lord will be added unto them in His own way. While it may not come at the time we desire, the faithful will know that every tear today will eventually be returned a hundredfold with tears of rejoicing and gratitude.”

I think I’d like to get that framed where I can read it every day! There are very special blessings waiting for us in heaven!

I’m still working on the “loving it” part. That might be a lifetime pursuit to learn to love being infertile. But, with God, anything is possible!

4 thoughts on “Infertility and the Law of Compensation

  1. Thanks for your post! We have a decoration that says this because of that talk. But thank you for the reminder to read it again, it’s been way too long!

    • Sure! I loved the talk when I first heard it, but lately all my “for fun” reading has been about stem cells and genetic polymorphisms that can cause Sertoli Cell Only Syndrome. It’s good to step back and remember what’s truly important from an eternal perspective!

  2. Wonderful quote. On compensation, I am reminded of the sister of a friend who had twins after a particularly late miscarriage and she said she felt like God had given her back the baby she had lost earlier. It really stayed with me.

Leave a Reply

