IVF #3 – 3dp5dt

I haven’t blogged much the past few days because not much has happened. It’s kind of a let down. All these weeks and months preparing for the moment of embryo transfer and now… we wait. You know that feeling when finals are finally over but you find yourself feeling like you can’t relax because you keep thinking you’re supposed to be doing something? That you must be forgetting something? That’s how I feel.

I did almost forget to do the 10 IU Lupron booster shot the day after transfer but remembered when it was time for the progesterone shot.

It was nearly impossible for me to sit around and do nothing for 2 days after the transfer. I kept forgetting that I was supposed to be relaxing and not doing anything that might make my uterus contract. I have no idea what makes a uterus contract, but resting should help prevent it.

I’ve POAS every day just like I wanted to. All 3 tests have been negative, as expected.

I don’t think I’ve felt any twinges or anything that might count as implantation pains. For the first day or 2 I had some pain that I think was in my bladder. That’s gone away now. Even if I did feel anything I wouldn’t trust it because the progesterone side effects include cramping!

So… we wait.

We went to dinner at a friend’s house tonight. Even though her own sister struggled for years with severe infertility she doesn’t get it that it’s rude to ask people all the time about when they’re going to have kids. Before dinner she bugged us about it and the other couple that came to dinner. And then during dinner, out of the blue, “I’m ten weeks pregnant with baby 3. We weren’t even trying.” Blah blah blah.

I hope these babies stick. I’ll feel like such a failure if they don’t.

6 thoughts on “IVF #3 – 3dp5dt

  1. The waiting is the worst part…and it doesn’t get any better. I hope this is the lucky cycle and the last time you have to feel this way!!!

  2. Hang in there! I’m sorry you had to deal that that obnoxious individual over dinner . . . some people will never understand the struggle of infertility . . .Sending prayers your way.

  3. I don’t know what to tell you about the feeling like a failure thing….of course you’re NOT and there’s nothing you did or didn’t do that affected the outcome……but that is exactly how I felt so me telling you oh no, don’t you dare feel that way is a bit hypocritical. It definitely comes with the territory, especially with male factor, bc WE’RE “supposed” to be 100% fertile and ready to go! What I had to remind myself is that an IVF conception is much like a natural conception in the way that there’s on-average a 50/50 chance each month. It doesn’t mean there’s necessarily “something wrong” or that you “messed up”.

    Along those lines, you do of course want to do everything in your power, by following your doctor’s advice. And if you happen to have a doctor, like some of us, who only tells you not to have sex but not that the problem with the sex is contractions from the orgasm, not the actual penetration (arghhhh!), then it is totally not your fault that you thought it was fine to have as many of those as you want. TMI?! Sorry! No wonder it didn’t work….LOL 😉

    And, even though you feel like you’re not able to do.anything proactive….you totally are by daily POAS! How empowering. And that is all you need to be doing right now missy. Enjoy this time being PUPO! 🙂

    Hugs

    • Oh man, I’m sorry that happened to you! It’s funny that the drs seem comfortable looking at our hoo-has, but they aren’t comfortable saying orgasm!

      Remind me when your next try is?

  4. Right?! LOL. I believe we’re going to do the cycle starting in late July or maybe the next one in August. Hubby has been out of town working and I’m waiting for him to get back, not certain when yet….would be nice if he was there, hahahaha.

  5. I know you posted this about a month ago and I’ve read your recent posts- but I am in the 2ww NOW and it stinks. I too don’t feel much at all- was pregnant on my 4th IVF, but miscarried and felt much more than. I felt my boobs getting sore and bigger, felt cramps (period like) and dizzy spells. Now #5, not much- a little dizzy upon standing, a little more acne than normal and very mild cramping. I’m 5 days post a 3 day transfer. Is that 5dp3dt??? I know, I should know this by now.

Leave a Reply

