IVF #3 – 10 Weeks 6 Days Pregnant – IVF Clinic Graduation

We graduated from our IVF clinic today! There was no ceremony, but it was a bitter sweet moment saying goodbye to the doctor. We’ve really come to love the doctors and nurses at the clinic. It’s strange to think we won’t see them again until we’re ready to have more kids! I rest easier at night knowing our two little frosty embabies are in good hands there. I look forward to seeing them again!

We had an ultrasound today, our 5th one for the pregnancy. Both babies looked good. At first I was scared because they weren’t moving and wiggling like they did last time, but then I saw their little blinking hearts. It had only been 7 days since the previous ultrasound, but my imagination goes crazy in between. My morning sickness got much worse at exactly 10w0d, so I’ve been taking a third dose of my B6+Unisom cocktail. I worried I was hurting the babies all week, but felt much better today after seeing them.

The next ultrasound will probably be two weeks from today at the nuchal translucency (NT) scan. I haven’t researched it much, but apparently they measure the fold of skin at the back of the babies’ necks and then that measurement along with some bloodwork gives you a probability score of having a baby with a chromosomal abnormality like trisomy 18 or trisomy 21. Most insurance companies will pay for this scan and for the gender and anatomy scan around 20 weeks.

If we were pregnant with a singleton then getting Noninvasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT) like MaterniT21 or Panorama would be an option. Those are done around 10 weeks, test for the more chromosomal abnormalities, and can also tell you the gender of the baby! Insurance will not usually pay for this unless you are over 35 years old, but if you want to know early you can pay for it out of pocket.

I worry my blog is boring or less relevant to the TTC infertility world now that I only have pregnancy updates. I really hope the nausea comes to an end soon because I have some post ideas about azoospermia and pesticides, azoospermia and endocrine disruptors like BPA and triclosan, azoospermia and stem cells, etc. that I really want to work on and get uploaded.

7 thoughts on “IVF #3 – 10 Weeks 6 Days Pregnant – IVF Clinic Graduation

  1. congrats on your graduation…you know, now that I think about it, there should be a ceremony with cake and punch. šŸ™‚ I think that should be implemented for real! xo

  2. That’s great news! Don’t feel like your blog is boring now! Reading about pregnancy is great too for other pregnant mommies. And stumbling across positive stories like yours are encouraging. šŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations on graduation! I think there should not only be cake, but a graduation gown and hat as well. It’s a milestone!!

    As someone still moving through the world of Azoospermia I love reading about yor pregnancy updates, it gives me hope. Sometimes that hope is the only thing that keeps me going.

  4. I agree with Society, Mrs. E….it gives me hope too. And I always I find your perspective incredibly helpful, regardless of your topic. Please do continue with the blog posts and info as you go through this journey…hopefully it will come in handy for me one day šŸ™‚

  5. This is great, congratulations.
    I have been following your blog as a source of information and inspiration. I had posted a while ago on here, pending mTESE. Well, just had it done at Cornell a couple of weeks ago. Unfortunately it was not successful, I carry the same diagnosis as your husband it turns out. Onward it is, to what we are not sure yet. Fortunately recovery from the surgery itself has not been too bad.
    Good luck with your pregnancy.

    • Oh, Jackson. I’m so very, very sorry. That SCO diagnosis is incredibly devastating. Even though I’m pregnant, I struggle with feelings that it’s not as good or real as a “real” pregnancy with a baby that is 100% ours. Or something like that. I can’t quite put it into words. It’s a very strange feeling. I wish you luck, Jackson. Keep us updated on what you guys decide to do.

Leave a Reply

