IVF #3 – 14 Weeks 4 Days Pregnant

In 10 days I’ll get another ultrasound. It’s been 12 days since my last ultrasound. Frankly, I have no idea how fertiles do it. How do they wait MONTHS between opportunities to see their babies? I guess if it was me, i would pay money every few weeks at one of those ultrasound places in the mall. In fact, I’ve considered doing that already. After this three week wait between ultrasounds, I have another three week wait for the next one. That one will be the anatomy and gender scan! Four weeks and two days!

We’re going to have the ultrasound tech write the genders on paper and out them in an envelope. Then our friend is going to make cakes and we’ll find out the genders at the same time as everyone else!! OMG I can’t wait!

Right now, they don’t feel much like babies in my belly. I mean, I know in my mind that they are there and I see them moving during ultrasounds, but I haven’t felt them moving yet. And right now I kind of feel like a baby sitter or an emotionally invested incubator. I hope when we hear the genders I’ll start thinking of them as my sons or daughters. Did that make any sense at all?

Oh yeah and the other reason I know they’re there is because my stomach is huge. Large and in charge. My mom said I’m going to have to lie to people about about my due date if we’re not going to tell them about the twins because nobody is this big at 14 weeks. We’re keeping the twins a secret until the gender reveal party! But seriously. My waist is 46 inches. Forty six. (BTW – 48 inches is 4 feet. Holy crap.) Not complaining, just observing.

I hoped to have something interesting to write after my last ultrasound 12 days ago. It was actually my NT scan (nuchal translucency). They did an ultrasound and some blood work. Unfortunately, they couldn’t give me any results yet because the blood work has two parts and they have to be done 4 weeks apart. No results until the second set of blood work comes back. I swear, pregnancy is a LOT of hurry up and wait, over and over again. I’ll do the second half of the blood work the second week of October. I’ll get a good detailed post for that!

Hope everyone out there is doing well. I think about you guys, my readers, all the time. Wondering how you’re doing, what stage of the azoospermia/infertility journey you are in, how you feel, and how you’re handling it all. Feel free to drop a comment any time to catch us up on your story, to rant and rage when needed, and to share any and all successes!

6 thoughts on “IVF #3 – 14 Weeks 4 Days Pregnant

  1. It’s like the 2WW in another context, except it’s a lot longer than two weeks 😦 waiting is always the hardest part.

    Maybe a Doppler might help you pass the time between scans?

    • Girl! Do not tempt me!! πŸ™‚ I have thought about it many times! I even looked them up online to see pricing. But we are devoted followers of Dave Ramsey’s financial planning/debt reduction plans. I just can’t justify the cost when we’re already in debt from freaking infertility. Double edged sword.

  2. Yes, I’m sure once you learn the genders it will make it seem more like children in there lol. I love the idea of everyone finding out with you at the party, and that you’re keeping twins a secret until then as well. How exciting!!! How’s Mr. E doing through all of this?

    As for me, I began a FET cycle on Aug 23rd, but it was cancelled on Sept 10th, the day before scheduled embryo transfer. I was extremely disappointed, and cried a lot. I haven’t really let it get to me, at least enough to really cry, until then. Maybe a defense mechanism up til now? Not sure. But I just really thought this was the time for us….for many reasons, one of which was that the scheduled due date would have been May 30th, our 5th anniversary. It just seemed right for so many reasons. This was our second cancelled FET….the first one in Feb was b/c I didn’t do what the Dr. told me to lol….my fault, long story….and this one was their fault – another long story. Sigh….I guess it wasn’t God’s time. Due to the timing of my cycles around the holidays in Nov & Dec, we won’t be able to try again until late January. So….I’ll just use these next few months to try to hone my skills of becoming a good mom – patience, positive attitude, organization etc…..same as when you are praying for a husband, maybe sometimes God knows you have a little more development needed before being able to be a good mom/wife/whatever-it-is-you-want-to-be. That’s how I’m looking at it in my life πŸ™‚

    I look forward to all your posts…thanks for sharing!

    • Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about your cycle getting cancelled! And the timing with the holidays stinks too. Dang it, I’m so sorry.

      I’m nervous people won’t understand what it means when we bring out the second cake! Oh well, they’ll figure it out soon enough!

      Mr.E is very laid back. He doesn’t get real excited or real disappointed about stuff. Basically, we’re total opposites! I think he’s happy to know the genders, but doesn’t have a preference on when. I need to know NOW! I have to ask him like 10 times if he’s excited about something. Or if he liked dinner or not. Haha! I think he’s just happy that I’m happy πŸ™‚

      • oh they’ll get it…..and they will be so shocked…in a good way πŸ™‚

        That made me laugh about Mr. E….men….lol.

Leave a Reply

