IVF #3 – 19 Weeks 0 Days – Halfway Point

Funny how time changes things. Sometimes I find myself in awe that this is actually happening. When we go for ultrasounds, I have a tiny suspicion that it’s fake.

We went for our anatomy scan yesterday. The babies are 10oz and 11oz. Baby A is a GIRL! And Baby B is a BOY!!

Because it seems too good to be true, I find myself imagining all the things that could go wrong. For example, physical things with the babies like pre-term labor, pre-eclampsia, knots in their cords, blood clots, etc. And then after they’re born, what if my BIL, our donor, goes psycho and decides he wants custody or something crazy. We never had him sign any legal documents.

I guess the worries never end. But I’m grateful we get to have the worries. Every day that they’re alive and kicking is a day to celebrate! And that’s what we’re trying to do every day!

8 thoughts on “IVF #3 – 19 Weeks 0 Days – Halfway Point

  1. oh wow…..your girl and your boy :)))) SO HAPPY FOR YOU. I forgot – you have more on ice? Will you try and go thru them all? Do you have a limit on the number of children you want, or do you more feel like since you have a boy and a girl, that’s good enough? That is so so amazing, and I can’t wait to read a post on names when you are at the point of trying to finalize the decision. How have you been feeling?? When’s the gender (and twin) reveal?

  2. Congratulations on passing half way! It’s a milestone in itself πŸ™‚

    Going through the journey you have it’s understandable to worry. Try to take a breath, put on a smile, and enjoy every moment.

    It was meant to be x x

  3. Hi Friend!

    I think about you all the time and am so happy for you. We are finally starting IVF! I start the Lupron tomorrow. Wondering if you have any advice about the whole process. πŸ™‚

    • I’m so excited for you, Annie! This is such an exciting process. Advice. Hmmm there’s just so much! For getting started, I would say to be sure to set alarms and back up alarms for shots. Mr.E always got up 15-20 min ahead and set the shots up and then came and got me when it was time. The Lupron is pretty easy. Tiny needle, easy to draw up and administer. Your first day or two of Lupron plus the others, be prepared to be confused and need a little extra time. We screwed up the first day and used too much of the water in the repronex πŸ™‚ We always did the shots around 5-6am so we couldn’t call the clinic and ask questions. Anyway, it all turned out just fine! So even if you screw it up, don’t freak out, just call and ask. The nurses are all super nice and they’re used to the questions and the confusion.

      Oh, and I used to get a little low blood sugar during the shots and feel nauseated. I think it was from anxiety and nerves. Anyway, so we always kept a bag of peanut m&ms and before we started the shots I had 3-4 m&ms. Once we figured that out it was never a problem again!

      I found two “sweet spots” on my belly: starting 1 inch below my belly button and about 2 inches to the right, I had about a 2×3 inch area where we could do the shots and I would hardly feel a thing. The other spot started 2 inches to the left of my belly button. I found it by wiping the alcohol swab all over my belly and then touching the needle to my skin in various areas. Weird, but effective! Too far from the belly button and Ouch! Too close, ouch!

      Good luck!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!!!

Leave a Reply

